Maryland nonprofits · IRS Form 990

What do nonprofit CEOs earn?

Explore reported CEO and executive director compensation alongside organization revenue and government grants. The directory opens with every organization reporting more than $500,000 in total compensation; records without reported pay can be viewed separately, ordered by revenue.

← Home
Organizations—
CEO pay reported—
CEO pay over $500,000—
CEO pay not reported—

CEO total compensation over $1 million

Entries with the same CEO name and reported pay are grouped. Organizations in a group share the reported amount; amounts are not added together.

CEO compensation directory

Showing every organization with total compensation over $500,000, highest to lowest. Change the filter to browse other records.

Loading the supplied nonprofit dataset…
Organization CEO / executive director name CEO total comp. Reportable pay Total revenue Government grants 990 tax period end

CEO total compensation is the “CEO Total Comp (incl. benefits)” field; reportable pay is shown separately. Blank CEO pay is displayed as “Not reported,” not as zero. Government grants are “Government Grants - All Levels” from Form 990 Part VIII, line 1e. Revenue, grants, compensation, and tax-period end are reported values from the supplied data; periods can differ across organizations.

References and methodology

All of the data comes from public government sources. I started with the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations in Maryland. For each one, I pulled the most recent full Form 990 tax return (filed 2024–2026) from the IRS’s electronic filing records. From each return I took the leader’s name, title and pay from the officer pay section (Part VII), and the government grant total from the revenue section (Part VIII, line 1e), which lumps federal, state and local money together. To estimate state funding, I matched each organization’s name and ZIP code to the State of Maryland Grant and Loan dataset (FY2021–2025) on Maryland’s open data portal. For county funding, I did the same with Montgomery County’s open spending data (FY2023–2026), since no other Maryland county publishes comparable records. Finally, I divided the CEO’s total pay by each funding amount to get the percentages.